My Interior Design Exploits

Lady on horse paintingHello lovely peoples!

It’s been a while! I don’t suppose disappeared bloggers ever have a truly convincing reason for…ahem…”disappearing.” So we shall skip the particulars behind the “why” of my blogging disappearance, and merely sit down to business. 🙂

One of the things that I discovered as of late is my interest in interior design. I never realized that decorating could be so much fun! And since I finally got my very own apartment some months ago, I decided to go all out! I painted several accent walls a light blue, refurbished several cheap pieces of furniture I found on Craigslist, and went thrift shopping for decor accents with great gusto.

I was so thrilled about how cute my place was starting to look, that I couldn’t stop posting pictures on Facebook. Suddenly, I was inundated with a multitude of ‘likes,’ and my friends began to encourage me to blog about my interior design exploits.

But I’m not THAT good, I thought. Plus the gods alone know how many interior design blogs already exist. 

 

“Pinterest it!” one awesome gal kept insisting.

So finally, I did. 😉  Thanks to her, you can check out my interior design exploits via Pinterest too. I will be adding more pictures as time goes by.

For this first post, I wanted to give you a quick tour of my room. There are still several things I’d like to add to it, but for now it gives you a fair idea of my love of color and pastels! 😉 Future posts will detail before/after shots of how I painted my furniture. Because with the sole exception of my sofa, I can assure you that all my furniture was painted. haha

 

This is a little corner view of my daybed and side table. I LOVE this side table because it basically allows me to have 4 levels of awesomeness…

20140803-201012-72612187.jpg

 

You can see how the bottom level is convenient for storing shoes. haha I never seem to have enough space for mine! The middle levels are perfect for storing magazines and books that I’m halfway done with. (I have a bad habit of reading 4+ books at a time! >_< )

20140803-201010-72610363.jpg

The top level is great for resting my pretty sunglasses and my jewelry box. *Sigh*…

20140803-201013-72613381.jpg

Now, this is the newest addition to my room. I’ve been wanting to get more into sewing lately, so I finally found the perfect sewing basket! 🙂 For now, I’ll be keeping it in my room. Isn’t it the cutest sewing basket, ever?!

20140803-201014-72614556.jpg

pastel blue sewing basket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The inside is sooo roomy, too! 🙂

light blue sewing basket interior

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then of course…pastel purses!

mint green purse - peach purse - red purse - blue purse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We all know that accent chairs are for throwing clothes on top! 😉

striped pink accent chair

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today, my bed had a lazy look to it! Mostly because my usual white quilt was in the wash today! 😉

pastel bedding with pink and teal accents

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not sure I have enough color in my closet…what do you think? 🙂

pastel wardrobe and closet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

lilac shoes - red shoes - mint shoes - yellow shoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pastel scarves - flowered scarf - mint scarf - owl scarf

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed the tour of my room!  Till the next time… 😉 

5 thoughts on “My Interior Design Exploits

Leave a Reply

