Just Call Me Della Street

For those of you that follow my blog, you know that I work at Barnes & Noble. I love books, but I realized I needed a different job that was more of a resume builder, if you get my drift.Β  Well, guess what happened this week?

I got hired to be a bilingual legal secretary! πŸ˜€

Now when I was a kid, I always dreamed about being either Lois Lane or Della Street. We all know who Lois Lane is, of course, but how many of us know about the fantabulous Della Street?

 

article-2199344-14DECCE4000005DC-111_634x494Della Street is mostly known as the legal secretary in the long running Perry Mason TV series. The first appearance of Della Street’s fictional character, however, came about in Erle S. Gardner’s unpublished novel Reasonable Doubt.

Gardner’s novel described her this way: “Della Street …Secretary, twenty-seven, quiet, fast as hell on her feet, had been places. Worked in a carnival or side show, knows all the lines, hard-boiled exterior, quietly efficient, puzzled over the lawyer, chestnut hair, trim figure, some lines on her face, a hint of weariness at the corners of her eyes.”

But back to the Perry Mason TV series…

I always felt that her immense loyalty and bravery were what kept her boss, defense attorney Perry Mason, in business. Not to mention all the crazy overtime she put in!

Della Street was one badass secretary.

She always kept a cool head, showed empathy to distressed clients, and got to join Perry Mason and his private detective (Paul Drake) in all sorts of crazy adventures.

 

prodigalparent2

4779149269_a625feee73

openingtable1024

barbara-hale-49-fashion_opt

file_perry_mason_show_-_wikipedia__the_free_encyclopedia

kjl

Barbara-Hale

images

WEB-goods-dvds-perrymason26rv1

Perry Mason14

BarbaraHale-3

tumblr_mg7ya6TMCN1qfkz0io1_1280

 

And of course, I just had to put some color shots as well! πŸ˜€ Hope you enjoyed reading about one of my childhood heroes. Until the next time…

15 thoughts on “Just Call Me Della Street

  1. Yaaay! Youuhooo!! Congratulations for your new job Alejandra!!!! πŸ˜€ Hmmm, I quite like some of the clothes on those photos, especially the red dress, and the short sleeved shirt with black collar and plastron, rather inspiring must I say! ;-D

    • Thank you! Although the funny thing is that I actually just got offered a writing position of sorts and I’m actually starting there by May 28th! πŸ™‚

  2. della, U R U synonym of loyalty, courage and committment. though ‘am a non-seer of the show, but only a reader of the novels, yet i ‘d say the depiction above is true to the letter.

Leave a Reply

