Art Saved My Life

art-saves

I am going to do something I have never done before in my life.

I am going to admit publicly within this internet world that I was abused as a child.

The sole thing that saved me was art. I cannot emphasize enough how many times I gained some measure of comfort by escaping from this world through the form of artistic expression.

It helped dull the pain. It helped distract me a little from my hopeless world. It helped me feel that I was capable of adding something beautiful to this world. It helped me feel empowered and magnificent.

My parents exhibited a mixture of destructive mental illness symptoms that I now believe to have been bipolar and/or borderline personality disorder. To say that I grew up acquainted with fear is an vast understatement. I never knew what it was like to stop looking behind my back until a few years ago when I moved as far away as possible.

Perhaps you are wondering why I am choosing to share this now.

It is because it is the truth. The abuse did happen, whether or not my parents would like to pretend it didn’t happen. Just like it happens in homes all over the world.

you-are-not-alone

This post is for those who cannot speak for themselves. Whether it is because they are afraid that no one will believe them, or perhaps because they are not in a safe place yet.

If you are still being abused, you are not alone. I know it seems like you are, and you probably think ending your life is the only way to escape the agony, but you have to believe me. Your life is only just begun. There is time yet to make a new start and experience safety and happiness. Don’t give up hope! I repeat, you are not alone.

If you have suffered from verbal, psychological, mental, physical, or sexual abuse, you are not alone. You do not need to be afraid that no one will believe you. I believe you.

 

 

 

376719_418252664879288_788658802_n

16 thoughts on “Art Saved My Life

  1. This is one of the most beautiful, loving and giving posts I have ever seen on WordPress!! Wow!!! I hope you don’t mind, but I reposted it. I just want as many people as possible to see it. Thank you for making it. Very touching.

  2. Pingback: Art Saved My Life | Bipolar On Fire

  3. This is a very touching story Alejandra and I can only salute you for your courage and bravery. Taking the step in writing this article must not have been easy, but it is sure that it is a great help for others who have/are living the same story.
    When looking around the people I know, it’s always rather shocking to know that there are always more people than we think who have been victim of abuse or violence…
    It is something incomprehensible, and words are difficult to find and not strong enough to express feelings when hearing such stories.
    I am glad to know that you have started a fresh new life, and showing others that they too can do it.

    • You are exactly right. It’s always shocking to hear about others near us who look so “normal”, that we would never imagine what they have been through. There is a selfish side to me that always feel relieved to know I’m not the only one who has suffered. Does that make sense?

      But thank you so much for your long message and your kind words. You’ve all made me feel confident that writing this article was the right thing to do. Thank you for your loving and comforting words!

Leave a Reply

