Art by Dina Argov

matryoshka-catalog-dina-argov_page_1

During my first years of college, three of my friends were majoring in art.

Two were painters and the other a photographer. I remember spending literally hours in the art studios, watching them and others paint. Sitting on the nearest stool, I would ask them billions of questions about brush techniques and color pallets.

Up until then, I had taken rich colors for granted. For the first time in my life, I became aware of concepts such as light, shadow, and depth.Β  Once I began to observe the world differently, my writing changed drastically.

For those of you new to this site, I am an avid writer.Β  I now notice infinite details I never captured before, my mind working like a filming camera everywhere I go. It’s almost as if my eyes are taking rapid succession of shots from the scenery and people around me. Shots and snippets that are stored in my memory for future use when developing new story concepts.

It is mentally exhausting at times to process so many details, but once having trained my mind to do so, I would never go back to the old me.

I will always be grateful to my old friends, Grant, Betsy, and Abigail. Because of them, I will always hold a unique respect for artists.

 

One artist I currently admire isΒ  Dina Argov, an illustrator and designer, based in Israel. Her talents include traditional oil painting, watercolor, pen and ink drawing, and computer processed images. She has a surreal and whimsical approach to art, interlaced with bold strokes of color.

The art featured in this post is a short collection of her works. Many of these are available for sale in her Etsy shop or on display in her site, Art by Dina Argov.

lady-on-a-horse-net

30_dina-argov_matryoshka

487236_511084995598484_104320974_n

cat-matryoshka-13-18

miralla_72

wpid-2013-02-11-19-16-29

wpid-2013-02-14-22-30-44

wpid-2013-02-18-14-50-54

dina-argov-paintingred-tree-for-print-2

wpid-2013-02-27-22-09-14

wpid-2013-02-13-23-12-09

woman-in-red-clear-d79ed7a7d790

young-woman-with-a-bird-net

Isn’t she amazing? I’d love to have the creativity and patience to do something like that!Β  But then again, I’m not sure anything can compare to the thrill I get of writing away till the wee hours of the morning finishing a poem or another chapter for my book. πŸ˜‰

To all the lovely dolls and handsome gents that peruse this blog, happy Sunday! πŸ˜€

13 thoughts on “Art by Dina Argov

  1. πŸ™‚ Alejandra, que bonito escribes, tu eres una gran artista y te admiro por eso ! yo pinto con pintura pero tu lo haces con tus palabras, muchas gracias amiga, en verdad te quiero mucho y tu tambien me has enseΓ±ado muchas cosas, una de ellas es a seguir adelante y luchar por lo que quieres a pesar de cualquier adversidad ! πŸ™‚ Dios te bendiga Shakespearjandra jajaja

  2. Oh yes I do like your article! πŸ™‚ I had already discovered her blog a few months ago and fell in love with her art! They are really beautiful, poetic, full of colors, love and generosity! x

      • Oh you are so sweet! :)) Gosh I’m so flattered by what you are saying, and I would be very honoured too! :)))Thank you Alejandra, you’ve turned this cloudy and rainy day in France into a sunny and beautiful day where the birds are singing!!… Well at least in my mind anyway!! πŸ˜€ xxx

Leave a Reply

