The Models Behind “Pin Up Girl” Posters

I wish I could have lived when pin-up girls were the epitome of sexy!

(I chose this one as the feature photo because she’s carrying a parasol. πŸ˜€ )

The termΒ pin upΒ refers to a photographic or illustration style which is printed and meant to be pinned up on a wall. This style originated at the beginning of the 20th century and became popular during World War II.

But have you ever wondered about the models behind the pin-up illustrations?

 

Here are some shots I found of the original photo shoots that inspired some iconic pin up girl posters:

You’ll notice that between the original model and the illustration itself, the artist took the liberty of drawing their legs slimmer and their features more delicate. Not much different from today’s photoshoots and Photoshop, eh? πŸ˜‰

Of you know what that means, right? We could all be pin up girl models! Because we’re all beautiful in our own way.

Have a lovely Monday, dolls! πŸ˜€

12 thoughts on “The Models Behind “Pin Up Girl” Posters

  1. i love vintage and pinup EVERYTHING! i swear i was born in the wrong era. hahahaha i love this post! pin up is so girly and feminine. just something miss nowadays.

    • Kim, I’ve often felt that I was born in the wrong era too! πŸ˜‰ I always like to try to pull off vintage or 50s- 60s clothes at work whenever possible! Ha! πŸ˜€

  2. Oh, I would be the perfect pin-up. My figure is nothing like that of todays models, but you could definitely have drawn me for such a poster πŸ˜€ My boyfriend also feels like I’ve been born in the wrong decade: He sees me as a lady of the Fifties πŸ˜‰

  3. I love these! Did a post with the same pictures a few months ago πŸ™‚ Today most pinup girls are shot, and then the photograph itself is retouched. Here the pinups are shot and then retouched through the drawing, so to say. Even though I’ve done some pinup modeling for cameras, I would LOVE to be painted as a pinup one day! πŸ™‚ xox

Leave a Reply

